70th Annual Membership Meeting a Success!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to everyone who attended our 70th Annual Membership Meeting on April 30, 2012 in the Gerald C. Wilson Auditorium!  Two hundred and forty two (242) members were registered when registration concluded.

The meeting kicked off with Junior Girl Scout Troop #963, let by Troop Leaders Barb Locke and Jennifer Pestel, bringing in the colors and leading the Pledge of Allegiance.  Following a Moment of Silence to honor those serving in the military, KEA employees Jim Devlin and Terry Kacalski introduced the winners of the 2012 Fourth Grade Safety Drawing Contest.  They are:  Kahryn Buchanan, Kodiak Christian School – first place, Kevin Diaz, East Elementary – second place, and Sayuri Seto – third place.  The winning drawings will be on display in our Member Services department for the next year.  KEA’s electrical safety program reinforces the importance of electrical safety and is presented to fourth grade classes every year.

Reports were presented by Chairman Cliff Davidson, Secretary/Treasurer Stosh Anderson, and President/CEO Darron Scott.  They discussed KEA’s strong financial status, renewable energy from the Pillar Mountain Wind Project and the Terror Lake Hydroelectric Project, and plans for three more wind turbines, another turbine at the Terror Lake hydroelectric plant, and a battery storage system to help the electrical system manage all of the ups and downs that wind can bring.  The three new wind turbines will be installed west of the existing turbines, down the ridge, by September of this year.

Following Employee and Director recognition, Scholarship presentations, Door Prize drawings, and the Tally Committee’s presentation on election results, members enjoyed delightful refreshments by Java Flats in the Kodiak High School Commons.

Mark your calendar and make plans to join us next year for our 71st  Annual Membership Meeting on Monday, April 22, 2013!

This entry was posted in Annual Membership Meeting, Board of Directors, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.