Alaska Energy Authority and Kodiak Electric Association Receive National Renewable Energy Award

Alaska Recognized for State Leadership in Clean Energy

Alaska Energy Authority and Kodiak Electric Association Receive National
Renewable Energy Award


Sara Fisher-Goad, executive director of the AEA –   Steve Lindenberg, Senior Advisor for Renewable Power at the US Dept. of Energy –   Darron Scott, president/CEO of Kodiak Electric Association


(Anchorage) – Alaska’s Renewable Energy Grant Fund, administered by the Alaska Energy Authority (AEA), was recognized with a State Leadership in Clean Energy (SLICE) Award by the Clean Energy State’s Alliance yesterday in Annapolis, Maryland.  The SLICE Awards recognize state programs and projects that accelerate the adoption of clean energy technologies and strengthen clean energy markets.

 Kodiak was spotlighted for the Pillar Mountain Wind and Terror Lake Hydroelectric Expansion projects. As a result of these projects, the City of Kodiak runs on 99 percent renewable energy, reducing the impacts of costly diesel fuel. Both projects received Renewable Energy Fund grants.  Sara Fisher-Goad, executive director of the AEA and Darron Scott, president/CEO of Kodiak Electric Association (KEA) accepted the SLICE Award.

 “The Renewable Energy Grant Fund represents a partnership between the state and communities to stabilize and inflation-proof energy costs by developing local sources of energy,” said Sara Fisher-Goad, executive director.   “Kodiak is a model of success for the program and Darron and the KEA board and staff deserve recognition for their vision.”

The Pillar Mountain Wind Project alone saves the city of Kodiak $4.5 million annually and at 15.6 cents/kilowatt hour, rates are competitive with Anchorage electrical rates.

The Renewable Energy Grant Fund provides a thorough vetting process to ensure that good projects move to construction, maximizing public benefit, reducing costs and using local resources to displace imported fuel. In 2013, 13 million gallons of diesel or equivalent were displaced. By 2016, the annual fuel savings is projected to be 20 million gallons of diesel or its equivalent.

 “These award winners illustrate the tremendous creativity and commitment being shown by state agencies across the country in implementing clean energy,” said CESA Executive Director Warren Leon.  “With eight very different programs highlighting diverse technologies including solar PV, wind, energy storage, hydropower, anaerobic digesters, microgrids, and combined heat and power, the 2014 State Leadership in Clean Energy award winners demonstrate that clean energy can create jobs, clean up the environment, and benefit local economies. These are programs to emulate.”

 The Renewable Energy Grant Fund was created in 2008 by the Alaska State Legislature to provide funding for renewable energy projects that can provide economic benefit and local energy sources to Alaska communities.  Applications undergo a thorough technical and economic evaluation.

 In 2013, 86 applications were received and nearly $23 million was awarded to 28 projects. Prior to that, $227.5 million had been provided to 251 projects statewide. Projects include wind, hydro, biomass, solar, transmission and integration to existing fossil-fueled units.

 The Alaska Energy Authority is a public corporation of the state with a mission to reduce the cost of energy in Alaska. This mission is achieved by investing in Alaska’s infrastructure; diversifying Alaska’s energy portfolio; energy planning and policy; and training and technical assistance.

 The Clean Energy States Alliance (CESA) is a national nonprofit coalition of public agencies and organizations working together to advance clean energy. CESA works with state leaders, federal agencies, industry representatives, and other stakeholders to develop and promote clean energy technologies and markets. For more information, visit

This entry was posted in Pillar Mountain Wind Farm, Terror Lake Hydroelectric Facility. Bookmark the permalink.