KEA’s 73rd Annual Membership Meeting – Informative and Fun!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to everyone who attended our 73rd Annual Membership Meeting on April 20, 2015 in the Kodiak Harbor Convention Center!  Two hundred and thirty-seven (237) members were registered when registration concluded.  Every registered member received a $25 electric energy credit applied to their account.

Following delightful refreshments by the Best Western Kodiak Inn, Kodiak Safeway, and Mill Bay Coffee & Pastries, the meeting kicked off with Cub Scout Pack 326, led by Den Leader Mike Conley, bringing in the colors and leading the Pledge of Allegiance.  Following a Moment of Silence to honor those serving in the military, KEA employees Katrina Refior and Colin Young introduced the winners of the 2015 Fourth Grade Safety Drawing Contest.  They are:  Audrey Lonheim, Main Elementary School – first place, Mycus Fernandez, Main Elementary School – second place, and Nicole Del Carmen, Main Elementary School – third place.  The winning drawings will be on display in our Member Services department for the next year.  KEA’s electrical safety program reinforces the importance of electrical safety and is presented to fourth grade classes every year.

Reports were presented by Chairman Cliff Davidson, Secretary/Treasurer Stosh Anderson, and President/CEO Darron Scott.  They discussed KEA’s strong financial status, low and consistent rates, and achievement of 99.7% of power generated by renewables in 2014. KEA continues to look ahead and plan for a cost effective, reliable, and renewable future for our members via three large ongoing projects and one large project in the early planning and exploratory stage. The project to add almost five Megawatts of backup diesel power at Swampy Acres for emergency situations is nearly complete. The cooperative is moving ahead with adding two Megawatts of Flywheel Energy Storage to our power system to work with the new large electric shipping cargo crane that will be installed at Pier 3. The new headquarters building project is going very well, on budget, and scheduled to be completed this summer. Lastly, KEA’s Board of Directors is planning forward for Kodiak’s future load growth, and maintaining KEA’s vision, by moving further on the investigation of the Upper Hidden Basin Diversion for Terror Lake. The project is to divert water from two high altitude streams into Terror Lake, and would provide approximately 25% more water to Terror Lake.

Other meeting highlights included Employee and Director Recognition, Scholarship Presentations, Door Prize Drawings, and a presentation by Tally Committee Chair Kate Loewen on the election results for the three seats on the Board of Directors.  The Annual Membership Meeting photos were taken by Dake Schmidt Photography.

Janet Johnson and Helm Johnson were drawn as the winners of the two Grand Prizes – $250 Electricity Certificates – congratulations!

Mark your calendar and make plans to join us next year for our 74th Annual Membership Meeting in April, 2016!

This entry was posted in Annual Membership Meeting, Board of Directors, Employees, KEA Headquarters Building, Renewable Energy, Report from the President/CEO, Safety Articles, Scholarships, Terror Lake Hydroelectric Facility, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.