KEA’s 75th Annual Membership Meeting – Powering Our Community for 75 Years!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Thank you to everyone who attended our 75th Annual Membership Meeting on April 24, 2017 in the Kodiak Harbor Convention Center!  Two hundred and thirty (230) members were registered when registration concluded, and every registered member was a winner!  Each received a $75 electric energy credit applied to their account in recognition of the 75th anniversary.

Following delightful refreshments by the Best Western Kodiak Inn, Java Flats, and Kodiak Safeway, the meeting kicked off with Boy Scouts of America Troop #626, led by Assistant Scout Master Mike Munson, bringing in the colors and leading the Pledge of Allegiance.  Following a Moment of Silence to honor those serving in the military, KEA employee Katrina Refior recognized the winners of the 2017 Fourth Grade Electrical Safety Drawing Contest.  They are:  Claire Harper – first place, Bianni Penaloza – second place, and Jasmin Samson – third place.  The winning drawings will be on display in our Member Services department for the next year.  KEA’s electrical safety program reinforces the importance of electrical safety and is presented to fourth grade classes every year.

As a tribute to the 75th Anniversary Meeting, two Special “KEA Reflections” speeches were presented by Director Gordon Gould and Director Mike Brechan. They respectively explained “The Way the Lights Came On”, and “The Building of Terror Lake. Reports were presented by Chairman Cliff Davidson, Secretary/Treasurer Stosh Anderson, and President/CEO Darron Scott.  They discussed KEA’s strong financial status, low and consistent rates, and maintaining 99.7% of power generated by renewables in 2016. KEA continues to move closer to the construction of the Upper Hidden Basin Diversion for Terror Lake to ensure that KEA has enough cost effective renewable energy to supply our community for years to come. The project is to divert water from two high altitude streams into Terror Lake, and would provide approximately 25% more water to Terror Lake.

Other meeting highlights included Employee and Director Recognition, Scholarship Presentations, Door Prize Drawings, and a presentation by Tally Committee Co-Chair Kate Loewen on the election results for the three seats on the Board of Directors.  The Annual Membership Meeting photos were taken by Dake Schmidt Photography.

Leslie Watson and Melissa Witteveen/Tyler Kornelis won the two prize trips to tour the Terror Lake Hydroelectric Facility, and  Robert Breckberg and Matthew Delgado/Chantelle Bartleson were drawn as the winners of the two Grand Prizes – $750 Electricity Certificates – congratulations!

Mark your calendar and make plans to join us next year for our 76th Annual Membership Meeting in April, 2018!

This entry was posted in Annual Membership Meeting, Board of Directors, Employees, KEA Headquarters Building, Renewable Energy, Report from the President/CEO, Safety Articles, Scholarships, Terror Lake Hydroelectric Facility, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.